History of UINSA

Dedicated Service to the Nation.

1961 : The establishment of the Surabaya Branch of IAIN was based on Minister of Religion Decree No. 17 of 1961. IAIN Surabaya Branch is part of IAIN Sunan Kalijaga Yogyakarta. It has 2 faculties in the region. Sharia Faculty in Surabaya and Tarbiyah Faculty in Malang

1965 : IAIN Surabaya Branch is officially called IAIN Sunan Ampel Surabaya Based on Decree of the Minister of Religion of the Republic of Indonesia No. 20 of 1965 Dated 5 July 1965. Has 3 Faculties in the Region. The Sharia Faculty in Surabaya, the Tarbiyah Faculty in Malang, and the Ushuluddin Faculty in Kediri July 5 1965 was designated as the Birthday of IAIN SA/UINSA

1994 : The Postgraduate Program with the Dirosah Islamiyah Postgraduate Masters Study Program (Prodi) was first opened and ratified based on the Decree of the Minister of Religion of the Republic of Indonesia No. 286 of 1994. August 1 1994 was designated as the Founding Day of the IAIN SA/UINSA Postgraduate Program

1997 : IAIN Sunan Ampel has officially become an independent campus without faculties in the region based on Presidential Decree No. 11 of 1997

2013 : IAIN changed its statutes to become UIN Sunan Ampel (UINSA) Surabaya based on Presidential Regulation no. 65 of 2013 dated 2 October 2013.

2014 : Based on the Regulation of the Minister of Religion of the Republic of Indonesia no. 8 of 2014 April 28 2014 UINSA officially has 9 faculties with 1 postgraduate program

UINSA is located in the center of Surabaya City, East Java. One of the oldest universities in Indonesia. In 2019, based on BAN-PT Decree No. 167/SK/BAN-PT/Akred/PT/IV/2019, UINSA has been officially accredited A as an institution. In the learning system, UINSA offers a series of study program choices that are nationally accredited. As well as adapting international standards in the implementation of education and management of higher education.

UINSA also offers a quality learning system and characterful life experiences for students. And have the opportunity to enjoy the atmosphere of life in the second big city in Indonesia with a very strategic campus location in the city of Surabaya.

In order to support the provision of education, UINSA is supported by adequate facilities and infrastructure. UINSA has two campus complexes. Campus 1 is located at Jl. A Yani No. 117 Surabaya, while campus 2 is located in the Gunung Anyar District area which is currently under construction. The total area of campus 1 and campus 2 is 259,662 m2.

Currently, UINSA also has buildings used to support academic and non-academic activities with a total area of 87,509.67 m2. Among them are divided into several faculties spread across UINSA. Other facilities include laboratories, totaling 53 laboratories and spread across various faculties with a total area of 3,222.00 m2. All buildings, facilities and infrastructure are financed from the APBN, SBSN, IDB and GRANT funds.

In 1961, UINSA, which at that time still had the status of IAIN Surabaya Branch, was part of IAIN Sunan Kalijaga Yogyakarta (currently UIN Sunan Kalijaga). Acting as Chancellor is Prof. R.H.A. Soenarjo, SH., who is also known as the first President of IAIN in Indonesia.

Meanwhile, for the Sharia Faculty in Surabaya, led by the Dean Prof. KHM. Syafii A. Karim. Furthermore, the Tarbiyah Faculty in Malang is led by Prof. Mr Moh. Koesnoe, SH. Including, on October 1 1964 based on the Decree of the Minister of Religion of the Republic of Indonesia No. 66 of 1964 regarding the establishment of the Ushuluddin Faculty in Kediri led by Dean KH. A. Zaini.

Furthermore, after officially becoming an independent campus without faculties in the IAIN SA or UINSA area until the 2022-2026 period, it will be led by 10 Chancellors, including:

1965-1972 : Prof. H. Teuku Ya’qub Isma’il, SH., MA
1972-1975 : Prof. Dr. Syafi’i A. Karim
1975-1987 : Drs. Marsekan Fatawi
1987-1992 : Dr. H. Bisri Afandi, MA
1992-2000 : Drs. KH. Abd. Jabar Adlan
2000-2008 : Prof. Dr. H. M. Ridlwan Nasir, MA
2009-2012 : Prof. Dr. H. Nur Syam, M.Si.
2012-2018 : Prof. Dr. H. Abd. A’la., M.Ag.
2018-2022 : Prof. H. Masdar Hilmy, S.Ag., MA., Ph.D.
2022-2026 : Prof. Akh. Muzakki, M.Ag., Grad.Dip.SEA., M.Phil., Ph.D